summer lovin’

July 24, 2009

IMG_8022

IMG_8008Above:: Some of my sweet summer farmer’s market finds.

The summer’s bounty is at it’s height in the Bible belt. I took at trip to the Thursday farmer’s market yesterday with great expectations. . . booth after booth set up in a bank parking lot, exploding with colors of Japanese eggplant, patty-pan squash, and homegrown tomatoes. I picked out a distinctive variety of beautiful vegetables, a loaf of 9-grain bread, and some hand-churned butter.

The beauty of dinner during the summer months is that there has to be no rhyme or reason to the meal, aside from the pure enjoyment of summer vegetables. You can grill squash and okra, pair it with a plate of sliced tomotoes, uncork a bottle of white wine and a meal is in progress. It matters less that all the food groups are present, and more that the bounty is being relished, in full.

Late last night we settled in on a hearty tomato bruschetta, piled high above grilled bread, drizzled with citron olive oil, and garnished with some freshly grated Parmesan. On the side: grilled grean beans. A meal so flavorful, so light, so delicious!

One Response to “summer lovin’”

  1. Clarissa said

    I love fresh green beans. I love them raw. I love them lightly sauteed with some good EVOO and a touch of fresh, minced garlic. Yum! But, please, and I think you’ll agree with me here, don’t boil them or steam them until they are limp as a wet noodle. Ruined.

    I also love a plate of fresh, home-grown tomatoes. Yummy! My favorite way is to just pick the tomato, wipe the dirt from it with my shirt sleeve, shake a little salt on and eat. Yum!

    Glad you are back to posting Abi!

Leave a Reply

