reverb10:[lesson learned]

December 17, 2010

Lesson Learned What was the best thing you learned about yourself this past year? And how will you apply that lesson going forward?


This year, I learned that there is a strength that courses through the deep places of my heart, that I did not know was there before. It is as if I was digging and digging for water, and finally the liquid gave way between the shards of rock and clods of dirt, and geysers exploded forth.

From where does my strength come? From the maker of heaven and earth.

I do not believe that this strength grew of its own accord. Rather, it is rooted in many experiences, many people, God. It began as something small, and manifested itself when it was needed most. This strength was birthed out of much difficulty and testing. It is only when we are pushed the hardest that we find out what our fabric is really made of.

This strength feels young, unrefined, even ruthless. Yet, it feels like a friend that I never had, an ally. And there are moments when I trust it, and moments when I still feel unsure. It is a something that I can feel in my chest, a tangible presence.

In the year to come, I hope to understand this strength more. Move through its rooms, become familiar with its walls and doors. I want to understand the source. I want to exercise it so it does not atrophy. I want to be strong against all that is not good, against unkind words and thoughts. I want to be strong emotionally. I want to be strong for others, because so many have been strong for me.

 

www.reverb10.com

One Response to “reverb10:[lesson learned]”

  1. ams said

    yes, yes, yes.
    love this.

Leave a Reply

