snow day scones.

February 9, 2011

I have been friends with Rachel for over a decade now. There are few things I can count in my life that have had such permanence, and reliability. It is good to have a friend who is true, knows me for who I am, and still sticks around.

When we first lived together in the Ayers Street house, she made a morning phone call to her grandmother, Cordova, to request her scone recipe. Not only has this scone recipe stayed with us over the years, but the index card that she transcribed it on has too. This little card has not only directed us on how to bake the scones, but has reminded us of many times spent together around the breakfast table with loved ones.

As we anticiapted another snow day last night, I said  – can we please make Cordova’s scones in the morning?

Yes, ma’am.

And as the unbelievably translucent powder covered the ground in white, it was the faithful scone recipe that brought us into the warm kitchen, coffee in hand. Scones are famously fickle – often too tough, or too sweet. But these scones are flaky and light, slightly sweet, and open for any sort of additions, such as lemon zest, blueberries, dried cranberries cinnamon, or nuts. The recipe calls for 1/2 cup of fat – either crisco or butter – I used 1/4 cup of each, crisco for texture, butter for flavor. Today, I also added zest from one whole lemon, and a handful of frozen blueberries. They are best served straight from the oven, with a bit of honey.

Cordova’s Scones

2 cups flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cream of tarter
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoon sugar
1/2 cup crisco and/ or butter
1 egg
a little less than 1 cup of milk

Preaheat oven to 475 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine dry ingredients. Cut in crisco/butter. Place egg in 1 cup measuring cup, beat lightly, and fill up remaining area with milk. Add to dry ingredients, mix until the dough holds together.

Turn out dough into lightly floured surface and form into a circle, pressing down until about 1/2 an inch tall. Cut into triangles and place on prepared baking sheet. Sprinkle with sugar and bake for 8 – 10 minutes.

One Response to “snow day scones.”

  1. Clarissa said

    I love scones! My favorite recipe is one I’ve tweaked a bit…it was originally an Alton Brown recipe. (You know, the guy from “Good Eats” on Food Network?) I’ve added a bit to it and changed it a bit to make it just about perfect in my humble opinion. I’ve made it with lemon zest and juice but we really prefer it with orange zest and juice and a handful of cranberries. The taste is lightly sweet and tangy. Sometimes, I drizzle a little glaze on them–yum!

    I agree with you about the combination of Crisco and butter. Crisco gives a good texture, but oh, the flavor of butter!! (I know I am preaching to the choir on this one!!!)

    I did not make scones this wintry day, but filled my small kitchen with the scent of pumpkin and chocolate chip muffins. The aroma still lingers…

    I hope your heart is warm today, dear little friend.
    You are precious to me, Abi Joy.

Leave a Reply

