cheers

May 22, 2011

Congratulations to my beautiful sister, Lori Beth, for graduating high school!

To celebrate properly, I baked a variety of pies and tarts: a Lemon Cream Tart, Strawberry Cream Cheese Torte, Dark Chocolate Cream Tart, Blackberry Cream Pie, Banana Cream Pie, Pecan Pie, and Apple Pie. Most of the recipes I used were from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From my Home to Yours. I found them to all be lovely recipes, using classic French baking techniques paired with Dorie‘s expertise to create homey, inviting desserts. I also drew on my invaluable experiences baking alongside the family of Cuppies and Joe in Oklahoma City, of whom I will forever be indebted to for teaching me not only how to bake delicious desserts, but also how to serve them forth with love.

It was a joy to share these sweet comforts with friends and family alongside coffee and stories of our graduate.

Here’s to you, pretty girl.

One Response to “cheers”

  1. Clarissa said

    Beautiful sisters, festive table, and all those delicious treats! What a perfect way to celebrate Lori Beth! I can’t believe the girls are old enough to be out of high school, but I know it is true. And Caleb only has two years left (and he wants to enter the military–so keep me in your prayers!!)! Thank you for sharing these lovely pictures of your celebration for those of us who could not be there but wish to have been!

Leave a Reply

